Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun

Permits to carry a pistol are issued by Minnesota County Sheriffs.

Under Minnesota Law, individuals must obtain a permit to carry a handgun in public. (Note: There is no stipulation in the law regarding whether that weapon must be concealed.) A Permit to Carry Constitutes a Permit to Purchase.

All permit to carry applications must be turned in to the Sheriff’s Office in-person.

Please include the following with your application:

  • Your completed application (there are three (3) different spots that require a signature and date)
  • A copy of your driver’s license and a copy of your certificate from your Permit to Carry class (your certificate is only good for one (1) year from the date you took the class)
  • Payment
    • If this is your first time getting a permit to carry or your current permit has been expired for over 30 days – $100
    • If your permit has been expired for 30 days or less – $85
    • If your permit is not yet expired – $75

If you have any questions or would like to schedule an appointment, call Sharon at (218) 834-8388 or Brenda at (218) 834-8440; please leave a message and we will call you back.

How to Apply in Lake County: 

  • Applicants must be at least 21 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States
  • Individuals wishing to obtain a permit to carry must fill out the Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application – Permit to Carry a Pistol and SUBMIT IN PERSON to the Sheriff’s Office in the county where they reside
  • Applicants must provide proof that they have taken a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Handgun Course with an instructor that is BCA Certified and that it meets MN Statute 624.714, Subd. 2(a). The course includes fundamentals of pistol use, actual shooting qualification exercise, and instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use including self-defense and the restrictions on use of deadly force. Training must occur within 12 months of applying for permit
  • Applicants must provide a copy of their Driver’s License or Passport
  • Refer to the Sheriff’s Office Fees for application fee information. Checks and cash only accepted. The permit is valid for 5 years
  • Once received, the office has 30 days to process the application
  • A Permit to Carry issued in Minnesota is valid throughout Minnesota

See also:
Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application – Permit to Carry a Pistol

Instructors

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Firearms Instructor Locator



North Shore Defensive Firearms Training
Two Harbors, MN 55616
Certification Expiration Date: 3/13/2022
Bradly Anderson
(218) 301-3322

Arrowhead Firearms Training Academy LLC
Duluth, MN 55804
Certification Expiration Date: 2/11/2025
Steven A. Holt
(218) 349-5740

Gunthorp
5050 Otter River Rd
Duluth, MN 55803
Certification Expiration Date: 2/11/2021
F. Gardner Behrends
(218) 491-5712

Skyking Tactical LLC
Duluth, Mn 55804
Certification Expiration Date: 12/20/2021
William T. King
(218) 260-9400